• 2

Functions of the structural units

GIS consists of six structural units (Directorates):

I. Operations Directorate – collects intelligence information in line with the intelligence plan approved by the Head of GIS, also carries out foreign counter-intelligence activities;

II. Analytical Directorate> – collects intelligence information from open sources, processes, stores and analyzes information collected or received by the GIS and provides support to operations;

III. Security Directorate> – is responsible for internal security of the GIS, inspects activities of the GIS structural units and carries out operational activities;

IV. Administrative Directorate> – is responsible for documents related to the GIS personnel, legal affairs, finances, logistics, classified and non-classified paperwork, protocol events, GIS coordination with public and mass media as well as ensures operational documenting and archive works and is involved in supporting operations;

V.Special Training and Re-Training Centre (Directorate) – carries out special training and re-training for the GIS and other government agencies’ personnel, is involved in scientific-research works and provides support to operations;

VI. Technical Intelligence Directorate> – collects intelligence information through operational-technical means, plans and carries out technical security measures both in the GIS and Georgia’s diplomatic and other representations abroad as well as is involved in supporting operations;

#51/53 Str. Unknown Heroes, Tbilisi, Georgia
Tel: (+995 32) 2 022 772
E-mail: docs@gis.gov.ge
Facebook you tube E-mail
© 2016-2019 Georgian Intelligence Service
all rights reserved